Don McCullin

Don McCullin is a British photojournalist, particularly recognized for his war photography and images of urban strife. He has been shot and badly wounded in Cambodia, imprisoned in Uganda, expelled from Vietnam and had a bounty on his head in Lebanon. He has braved bullets and bombs not only to get the perfect shot but to help dying soldiers and wounded civilians. Compassion is at the heart of all his photography.

I have decided to look at this artist as he focuses on war, which I will also be focusing on for this unit. I also like the how his images are in black and white instead of colour, in my opinion, this really draws the viewer in and makes the images have a rawness, they are more engaging this way and tell more of a story. I also like the use of grain this artist uses.

Leave a comment