Nicky Bird

Nicky Bird is an artist whose work investigates the contemporary relevance of found photographs, and hidden histories of specific sites, investigating how they remain resonant. She has explored this through photography, book works, the Internet and New Media. In varying ways, she incorporates new photography with oral histories, genealogy, and collaborations with people who have a significant connection to the original site, archive or artefact. I have chosen to look at this artist as she does a similar thing to what I will hopefully doing with layering up new photography with found photographs that contain/show history.  I also like how she’s layered the images together, I like how you can see the quality and history of the older image. I am interested in how the also presents her work.

Leave a comment